Tours in winter

The Jenatsch region offers many different tours.
Most tours are quite short, but it's also possible to combine 2 peaks.
On the day of arrival you can visit Piz Surgonda on the ascend to the hut and on the descend to Preda you can climb Piz Jenatsch or Piz Laviner. There is something for everyone in terms of difficulty and also with snowshoes you can experience enjoyable days around our hut.

Piz Surgonda, 3195 m

Beautiful panoramic mountain, which is often combined with the approach to the hut (see winter approach). The eastern summit is mostly visited.

From Jenatsch hut:
Ascent: 600 m
Time: 2- 2.5 h
Difficulty: PD

If the conditions are safe, you cross the slope under the Piz Picuogl, otherwise you descend approx. 100 meters to the stream and climb (following the poles) to the foreland of the Vadret d’Agnel glacier. Here you turn left and climb between the rocks to the Surgonda glacier plateau. On the glacier you slowly climb up to the connecting ridge between the east and west summits. Most people visit the Eastern summit. Over the ridge it is an easy walk up to the summit.
Wer retour zur Chamanna Jenatsch will, kann anstatt auf gleicher Route, durch das obere Val Bever abfahren und ca. 200 m wieder zur Hütte aufsteigen. Die oftmals guten Schneebedingungen entschädigen für den Gegenanstieg 😉

Piz Calderas, 3397 m

The highest in our area with a fantastic view, and still quite easy to reach.

Ascent: 750 m
Dauer: 2.5-3 h
Difficulty: PD

From the hut to the northwest following the valley and then climb the Vadret Calderas on the left. Avoid the steep step in a left-hand bend below the flank of Piz Picuogl. If there is little snow, the traverse under the flank can be icy. When descending and there is enough snow, the direct, steeper variant can also be selected.

After the steep step you reach the glacier plateau and turn north, pass point 3166 and over the steeper flank to the summit.

Tschima da Flix, 3301 m, via Fuorcla da Flix

Easy to reach summit with a surprising nice view compared to the easy ascend, can be done as a round trip form Chamanna Jenatsch.

From Jenatsch hut:
Ascent: 650 m
Time: 2 h
Difficulty: PD+

If the conditions are safe, you cross from the hut along the summer path to the glacier foreland of the Vadret d’Agnel. Otherwise short descent and counter climb to the Vadret d'Agnel (see approach Julier Pass).
From the glacier lake to the Fuorcla da Flix and easy over the south ridge to the summit.

Tschima da Flix, 3301 m, via Vadret Calderas

Easy to reach summit with a surprising nice view compared to the easy ascend, can be done as a round trip form Chamanna Jenatsch.

From Jenatsch hut:
Ascent: 650 m
Time: 2 h
Difficulty: PD

In the same way as to Piz Calderas to the glacier plateau of Vadret Calderas. From there over the north slope to a small pass. The last meters to the summit are done on foot, depending on the conditions.

Piz d’Agnel, 3204 m

The Piz d’Agnel with its steep rock faces can be reached quite easily from the Fuorcla da Flix and can be combined with the Tschima da Flix.

From Jenatsch hut:
Ascent: 600 m
Time: 2 h
Difficulty: PD+

Until Fuorcla da Flix, take the same route as to Tschima da Flix. From here moderately steep and slightly exposed to the summit. Depending the conditions with skis or by foot.

Piz d’Err, 3378 m

Great view from the second highest peak in the region. Safe conditions are required and crampons are necessary for the summit.

Ascent: 750 m

Time: 2.5 - 3 h
Difficulty: PD+

From the hut to NW and over a steep step up to the Vadret d’Err. Climb up (steep end of the glacier) to the glacier plateau and continue in a northerly direction. Pass right of point 3308 and traverse over the glacier to the foot of the summit rock. Pass the eastern slopes and from there climb a steep snow couloir into a saddle. Follow the north right to the summit (by foot).
Depending on the conditions and the time of year, other variations to the summit are also possible, see summer tours.

Traunter Ovas, 3152 m (Val Bever loop)

The Traunter Ovas can be combined well with the Val Bever loop. The round trip is also worthwhile without climbing the summit, on days when higher peaks are not possible due to weather and avalanche reasons.

Ascent: 600 m
Time: 2 h
Difficulty: PD

From the hut follow the same route as to Piz Surgonda up to the glacier plateau. Keep left here and climb over the short western slope to the summit. If you want to do the round tour, you drive to Fuorcla Traunter Ovas and from there to the upper Val Bever and with a counter climb (approx. 200 m) back to the hut.

Piz Jenatsch, 3250 m

Nice panoramic view of the Jenatsch area. Steep climb from both sides.

Ascent: 600 m
Time: 2 - 2.5 h
Difficulty: AD

There is two ascents to the Piz Jenatsch.

South ascent: From the hut to NW, climb into the glacier lake of the Vadret d’Err and past point 2958 to a steep snow couloir. Climb this on foot to the west ridge and along this to the summit.

North ascent: traverse the steep slopes around point 2671 behind the hut and climb to point 2715. Continue in the direction of Fuorcla Laviner and on the left side of the northwest ridge steep first with the skis and then on foot to the summit.

Piz Laviner

The Piz Laviner is mostly combined with the descent through the Val Mulix to Preda and thus as part of the Bündner Haute Route.

Ascent: 500 m
Time: 2 h
Difficulty: AD-

Desent to Naz / Preda: PD+

From the hut traverse the steep slopes around point 2671 and past point 2715 up the glacier depression to below the Fuorcla Laviner. Cross the southern flank of Piz Laviner, climb a snow couloir to the southwest ridge and continuer over some rock steps to the summit.

Touren Winter

Das Jenatschgebiet bietet viele verschiedene Touren.
Die meisten Touren sind eher kürzer, aber man kann ja gut auch 2 Gipfel kombinieren.
Am Anreisetag kann man schon den Piz Surgonda mitnehmen und bei einer Abfahrt nach Preda den Piz Jenatsch oder Piz Laviner. Von der Schwierigkeit her ist für jeden etwas dabei und auch mit Schneeschuhen kann man bei uns genussvolle Tage erleben.

Piz Surgonda, 3195 m

Schöner Aussichtsberg, der oft mit dem Zustieg zur Hütte kombiniert wird (siehe Zustieg Winter). Meist wird der Ostgipfel besucht.

Ab Jenatschhütte:
Aufstieg: 600 m
Dauer: 2- 2.5 h
Schwierigkeit: WS

Von der Hütte quert man bei sicheren Verhältnissen den Hang unter dem Piz Picuogl, ansonsten fährt man ca. 100 Höhenmeter ab bis zum Bach und steigt den Stangen entlang bis zum Gletschervorfeld des Vadret d’Agnel auf. Hier biegt man links ab und steigt zwischen Felsen zum Gletscherplateau des Surgonda auf. Auf dem Gletscher steigt man gemächlich an bis zum Verbindungsgrat zwischen Ost- und Westgipfel. Meistens wird der Ostgipfel besucht. Über den Grat in einfachem Fussaufstieg zum Gipfel.
Wer retour zur Chamanna Jenatsch will, kann anstatt auf gleicher Route, durch das obere Val Bever abfahren und ca. 200 m wieder zur Hütte aufsteigen. Die oftmals guten Schneebedingungen entschädigen für den Gegenanstieg 😉

Piz Calderas, 3397 m

Der höchste in unserer Umgebung, demenstprechend fantastische Aussicht, und trotzdem einfach zu erreichen.

Aufstieg: 750 m
Dauer: 2.5 h
Schwierigkeit: WS

Von der Hütte nach Nordwesten dem Tal folgend, bis man linkerseite auf den Vadret Calderas hochsteigen kann. Die Steilstufe in einem Linksbogen bis unter die Flanke des Piz Picuogl umgehen. Bei wenig Schnee kann die Traverse unter der Flanke eisig sein. Bei der Abfahrt und genügend Schnee kann auch die direkte, steilere Variante gewählt werden.

Nach der Steilstufe erreicht man das Gletscherplateau und wendet sich nach Norden, vorbei am Pkt. 3166 und über die steiler werdende Flanke zum Gipfel.

Tschima de Flix, 3301 m, via Fuorcla da Flix

Einfacher und gut zu erreichender Aussichtsgipfel, der ab der Chamanna Jenatsch als Rundtour gemacht werden kann.

Ab Jenatschhütte:
Aufstieg: 650 m
Dauer: 2 h
Schwierigkeit: WS+

 

Bei guten Verhältnissen quert man von der Hütte aus dem Sommerweg entlang zum Gletschervorland des Vadret d’Agnel. Ansonsten kurze Abfahrt und Gegenanstieg den Stangen entlang (ziehe Zustieg Julierpass).
Ab dem Gletschersee zur Fuorcla da Flix und über den Südrücken bis zum Gipfel.

Tschima da Flix, 3301 m, via Vadret Calderas

Einfacher und gut zu erreichende Aussichtsgipfel, der ab der Chamanna Jenatsch als Rundtour gemacht werden kann.

Ab Jenatschhütte:
Aufstieg: 650 m
Dauer: 2 h
Schwierigkeit: WS

Auf gleichem Weg wie zum Piz Calderas bis zum Gletscherplateau des Vadret Calderas. Von dort aus über den Nordhang zu einem kleinen Pass. Die letzten Meter zum Gipfel werden je nach Verhältnissen zu Fuss gemacht.

Piz d’Agnel, 3204 m

Der Piz d’Agnel mit seinen schroffen Seiten kann von der Fuorcla da Flix her relativ einfach erreicht werden und bietet sich als Kombination mit dem Tschima da Flix an.

Ab Jenatschhütte:
Aufstieg: 600 m
Dauer: 2 h
Schwierigkeit: WS+

Auf gleichem Weg wie zur Tschima da Flix geht’s bis zur Fuorcla da Flix. Von hier mässig steil den etwas ausgesetzten Hang zum Gipfel.

Piz d’Err, 3378 m

Imposante Aussicht vom zweithöchsten Gipfel. Sichere Verhältnisse sind Voraussetzung und im Gipfelaufbau sind bei Vereisung Steigeisen notwendig.

Aufstieg: 750 m

Dauer: 2.5 – 3 h
Schwierigkeit: WS+

Von der Hütte nach NW und über eine Steilstufe zum Vadret d’Err. Über diesen steil hinauf auf ein Gletscherplateau und in nördlicher Richtung rechts von Pkt. 3308 vorbei zum Gipfelaufbau. Den Osthang queren bis unterhalb des Gipelaufbaus und von dort durch eine steile Schneerinne in einen Sattel. Von Norden her über die Felsen zu Fuss auf den Gipfel.
Je nach Verhältnissen und Jahreszeit sind auch andere Varianten auf den Gipfel möglich, siehe Sommertouren.

Traunter Ovas, 3152 m (Rundtour Val Bever)

Der Traunter Ovas kann gut mit der Val Bever Rundtour kombiniert werden. Die Rundtour ist auch lohnend ohne Gipfelbesteigung, an Tagen wo höhere Gipfel aus Wetter- und Lawinengründen nicht möglich sind.

Aufstieg: 600 m
Dauer: 2 h
Schwierigkeit: WS

 

 

Von der Hütte auf gleicher Route wie zum Piz Surgonda bis zum Gletscherplateau. Hier nach links halten und über den kurzen Westhang zum Gipfel. Will man die Rundtour machen, fährt man zur Fuorcla Traunter Ovas ab und von dort ins obere Val Bever und mit Gegenanstieg (ca. 200 m) wieder zur Hütte.

Piz Jenatsch, 3250 m

Schöner Rundblick ins Jenatschgebiet. Steiler Fussaufsteig von beiden Seiten.

Aufstieg: 600 m
Dauer: 2 – 2.5 h
Schwierigkeit: ZS

Es gibt zwei etwa gleich schwierige Aufstiege zum Piz Jenatsch.

Südaufstieg: Von der Hütte nach NW in die Gletschermulde des Vadret d’Err steigen und an Pkt 2958 vorbei zu einem steilen Schneecouloir. Dieses zu Fuss bis zum Westgrat hochsteigen und diesem entlang auf den Gipfel.

Nordaufstieg: Die steilen Hänge um Pkt 2671 hinter der Hütte traversieren und zu Pkt 2715 ansteigen. Weiter Richtung Fuorcla Laviner ansteigen und linksseitig des Nordwestgrates steil mit den Ski und anschliessend zu Fuss bis auf den Gipfel.

Piz Laviner

Der Piz Laviner wird im Zusammenhang mit der Abfahrt durch das Val Mulix nach Preda und somit im Rahmen der Bündner Haute Route bestiegen.

Aufstieg: 500 m
Dauer: 2 h
Schwierigkeit: ZS-

 

Von der Hütte die steilen Hänge um Pkt 2671 traversieren und an Pkt 2715 vorbei die Gletschermulde hinauf bis unterhalb der Fuorcla Laviner. Die Südflanke des Piz Laviner queren und zu Fuss über eine Schneerinne zum Südwestgrat und über einige Felsstufen zum Gipfel.

Abfahrt nach Naz / Preda: WS+